May Totals, June Kickoff

01Jun14

Let’s do the numbers first, so I can tell you about my summer reading project!

Due to a lot of work commitments, my May totals were down from the norm. Still, I managed to squeak out 9 novels and 4 non-fiction works, for a monthly total of 13. This brings the grand YTD totals up to:

Fiction: 36

Nonfiction: 26

Poetry: 9

Graphic Novels: 3

Plays: 2

and an overall total of 76.

Today’s June 1, though, so you know that that means…

Image taken from the New York Times Online. Click through for a summer reading list.

Image from the New York times online. Click through to read a summer reading list from 2008.

Summer reading! Okay, fine, it’s technically not summer yet. Call me an overachiever, but there are so many books to explore, I’d rather start on my own than wait for the official adult summer reading program. I’ll still sign up, though. I promise!

This year, I thought it would be a good time to compile my summer reading list from Facebook friends’ suggestions. I stumbled across the original idea at A Novel Challenge, and my digital community responded enthusiastically. So enthusiastically, in fact, that I have my work cut out for me: here’s the list of 44 book suggestions, plus the 22 alternate picks (some people got super into it and suggested more than one title).

  1. Madness, Rack and Honey / Mary Ruefle
  2. Just One Damned Thing After Another / Jodi Taylor
  3. Never Cry Wolf / Farley Mowat
  4. Paladin of Souls / Lois McMaster Bujold
  5. The Giant’s House / Elizabeth McCracken
  6. Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister / Gregory Maguire
  7. Dictionary of the Khazars / Milorad Pavic
  8. Chronicles of a Death Foretold / Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  9. My Real Children / Jo Walton
  10. The Unquiet Bones / Mel Starr
  11. any book by Owen Davies [I’ve read a few, so I’ll pick from the ones I haven’t]
  12. The Road to Damascus / Keith Laumer
  13. Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore / Robin Sloan
  14. The Meaning of Maggie / Megan Jean Sovern
  15. Behind Closed Doors / Susan R. Sloan
  16. The Last Witchhunter / James M. Morrow
  17. Unorthodox / Deborah Feldman
  18. Tigana / Guy Gavriel Kay
  19. Accelerando / Charles Stross
  20. Hyperion / Dan Simmons
  21. The Rules of Inheritance / Claire Bidwell Smith
  22. Stars in My Pockets Like Grains of Sand / Samuel Delany
  23. I Am the Central Park Jogger / Trisha Meili
  24. The Empathy Exams / Leslie Jamison
  25. The Summer I Turned Pretty / Jenny Han [1st in the Summer trilogy]
  26. Can We Talk About Something More Pleasant? / Roz Chast
  27. Horse of a Different Color / Howard Waldrop
  28. Defective / Susan Sofayov
  29. Vurt / Jeff Noon
  30. Tao of Jeet Kune Do / Bruce Lee
  31. Southern Cross the Dog / Bill Cheng
  32. Wool Omnibus / Hugh Howey
  33. Divine Misfortune / A. Lee Martinez
  34. Death and Resurrection / R.A. McAvoy
  35. The Kept / James Scott
  36. Lions of Al-Rassan / Guy Gavriel Kay
  37. The Lions of Lucerne / Brad Thor
  38. Life is Elsewhere / Milan Kundera
  39. Terrorist / John Updike
  40. The Revenger’s Tragedy / Thomas Middleton
  41. The Compleat Boucher / Anthony Boucher
  42. White is for Witching / Helen Oyeyemi
  43. Frog Music / Emma Donoghue
  44. Revenge of the Witch / Joseph Delaney [The Last Apprentice, book 1]

The alternates:

  1. Paula / Isabel Allende
  2. My Beloved World / Sonia Sotomayor
  3. The Fox Woman / Kij Johnson
  4. Fudoki / Kij Johnson
  5. Why We Broke Up / Daniel Handler
  6. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms / N.K. Jemisin
  7. Gods War trilogy / Kameron Hurley
  8. Worm: A Complete Web Serial
  9. the Maisie Dobbs series
  10. Transit of Venus / Shirley Hazzard
  11. The Central Park Five, a documentary by Ken Burns
  12. The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P. / Adelle Waldman
  13. The Last Policeman / Ben H. Winters
  14. Agent Zigzag / Ben Macintyre
  15. Guernica / Dave Boling
  16. Sounds of Songs Across the Water/ Rob Yardumian
  17. Body and Bread / Nan Cuba
  18. Memory and Dream / Charles de Lint
  19. The Little Country / Charles de Lint
  20. The Signature of All Things / Elizabeth Gilbert
  21. Last Week’s Apocalypse / Douglas Lain
  22. Green Shadows, White Whale / Ray Bradbury

Ambitious, I know. But (despite the fact that my to-read notebook is pretty eclectic) I would have never come up with such a wonderful list on my own, so I’m going to read as many of these as possible this summer. Sharing a book with a friend is really an act of trust: it’s like you’re handing a piece of yourself to the other person and saying, “This reveals something about me. I hope you like it as much as I did.”

Do you make any special plans / projects for summer reading? I’d love to hear about them!

 

 

No Responses Yet to “May Totals, June Kickoff”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

