September Reading Wrap-up

04Oct13

Life remains cheerfully busy. I am still reading. I also started running this month, and while this is awesome, it does cut into the morning reading time. So I read “only” 13 books this month, and you just go right ahead and roll your eyes if you have to. I’ll totally understand.

This month I focused on reading books for the Embarrassment of Riches TBR Reading Challenge 2013, which is the challenge I’d done the least work on so far this year. I have a bookshelf filled with things I’ve been meaning to get around to for ages, and managed to get through ten of them. All non-fiction, too, which tells you something about the kind of books I buy. I tend to like “project” books, where I learn a new skill, or experiment with new ways of thinking/being. So reading the books is a precursor to deciding whether or not I’d like to do the project. In most cases, the answer was yes. In some cases, the answer was no, and I was able to donate the book to the library after finishing it. In fact, this challenge was great for cleaning out my house, because I picked up a lot of books and had to admit that, no, I didn’t really WANT to read them. So I donated them, too. It feels good to have a lot less book clutter around the house, and also makes more room for books I will actually use and re-read.

I only made it through two pieces of fiction in September, one of which also turned out to be my favorite book for the month: Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane.  Oh my goodness, the sad. I appreciated this book, I enjoyed this book, but I cannot honestly say I liked it. It’s a book about  real things, written up in fantastic fashion, and part of what makes it so good is that the truth resonates with you, under the fantasy trappings up top.

After looking at my other two favorites this quarter, though, I still have to give the overall nod to Philipp Meyer’s “The Son.” Best historical fiction I’ve read in a long time (it’s not one of my preferred genres, but I know good writing when I read it). Only one more quarter left in 2013, which means I’d better get cracking on the rest of these challenges…

With that in mind, I’m on track to finish the 2013 Middle East Reading Challenge in October–just finished one this week, so only 4 left to go! I’m one away from finishing the library book reading challenge, so that’s pretty much a given. And then, we shall regroup.

Some numbers:

Fiction: 2

Non-fiction: 10

Poetry: 1

Monthly total: 13

YTD total: 135

So there’s that. How’s your reading going?

No Responses Yet to “September Reading Wrap-up”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

