Quarter Quell: Tidying Up My Challenges

05Apr13

April. I decided, after my last post, that if I hadn’t cleaned up my backlog of reviews by the new quarter, I’d simply list and tally the books I’d read, then start afresh. It would’ve been nice to have a full-length, thoughtful review for everything I read this past quarter, but I’m also a fan of eight hours of sleep, regular meals, yoga practice, etc. So let’s start with what I read, but didn’t review.

Non-reviewed Challenge Books

1) For the 2013 Literary Exploration Reading Challenge (Insane Level)

Non-fiction: Downscaling, Dave and Kathy Babbitt

Poetry: Only the Senses Sleep, Wayne Miller

Young Adult: Shadow and Bone, Leigh Bardugo

2) For the 2013 Essay Challenge

Sugar In My Bowl: Real Women Write About Real Sex, ed. Erica Jong

3) For the Library Books Reading Challenge 2013

Light On Yoga, B.K.S. Iyengar

Frontera, Rick Bayless

Digital Barbarism, Mark Helprin

Salvage and Demolition, Tim Powers

The City of Devi, Manil Suri

The Searchers, Glenn Frankel (which I actually did manage to review for work)

Future Scenarios, David Holmgren

Learned Optimism, Martin Seligman

4) For the Dive Into Poetry Challenge 2013

Only the Senses Sleep, Wayne Miller

5) For the Peek-A-Book 2013 Women Challenge

Healing Spaces, Esther M. Sternberg, M.D.

Calling Me Home, Julie Kibler

Yoga Bitch, Suzanne Morrison

What Kids Really Want That Money Can’t Buy, Betsy Taylor

You Can Buy Happiness (And It’s Cheap), Tammy Strobel

The Selection, Kiera Cass

6) For the Wishlist Challenge 2013

Crash Course in Cataloging for Non-Catalogers, Allison G. Kaplan

Frugal Luxuries, Tracey McBride

Whew.

First Quarter Totals

Total fiction = 16

Total non-fiction =31

Total graphic novels = 1

Total poetry = 1

Total books read Q1 = 49

Favorite book read this quarter: nothing holds a candle to Code Name Verity. If you are at all interested in World War II, or even if you’re not, this amazing novel about friendship during a difficult time will blow your mind.

Not too shabby. Since there are a few challenges on the board for which I haven’t read any books, I’ll try to focus on those first this quarter.

No Responses Yet to “Quarter Quell: Tidying Up My Challenges”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

