What Is This I Don’t Even: A Whole Whack Of Challenges

31Dec12

The more I explore the world of reading challenges, which was apparently a known quantity to everybody but me, the more amazed I get. There’s a challenge for just about everything! I feel like the proverbial kid in the candy store, and I’m super-excited about all the new things I can’t possibly avoid learning in 2013.

Of the ginormous cornucopia of challenges I found in the last 48 hours, these are the ones I’ve added on:

Library Books Reading Challenge 2013. Given that 99% of my books come from the library, this challenge is my ace in the hole, as just about anything I’m reading could count here, if it doesn’t fit neatly somewhere else. Huzzah! The highest level is “Just Insert IV,” at 50 books, so I’m shooting for that.

Graphic Novel Challenge 2013. I love comics. The love of my life loves comics. All our friends love comics. Why, oh why, do I not read more comics? With this challenge, here go my excuses. The “Advanced” challenge is to read 2 books in each of 12 categories, as follows:

1. manga
2. superhero
3. classic adaptation (a classic work adapted into the graphic format)
4. memoir
5. fantasy
6. translated from a foreign language
7. a single-issue comic book
8. science-fiction
9. crime or mystery
10. fairytale or mythology (true to the original or fractured, such as Fables series)
11. children’s book (specifically written for children)
12. anthology (a collection of short stories by different authors/artists)

Recs cheerfully accepted from the well-read pros I know. 😉

2013 Middle East Reading Challenge. I’m signing up for this one because I know very little about this part of the world beyond what we see on television, and I’d like to correct that. Scholar level involves reading 15 books. Recommendations welcome.

Embarrassment of Riches TBR Reading Challenge 2013. This challenge, which requires that you own the book before 1/1/13, will be a great way of getting around to that bookshelf of books I own but haven’t gotten around to because I’m always checking books out of the library. Platinum level is 50 TBR books, and yes, I do own that many… *facepalm*

2013 Witch’s Reading Challenge. My worldview could best be described as Pagan with a healthy dose of Buddhist, but I hate labels. Know what I do love? Reading. Hence this challenge. You could make the argument that Wiccan / Pagan thought can’t really be absorbed from books, but it can be helpful to have a finger pointing at the moon. God/Goddess read level is 41+ books.

Dive Into Poetry Challenge 2013. Woohoo! I love poetry, and am always looking for excuses to read more. On top of that, my library has an amazing poetry section–technically, two sections–so I’ll have a nice pool of books to choose from. There are a number of different ways to complete this challenge, and I think I will try to do all of them. For science! And poetry. Hee.

THAT, plus the challenges I’ve already signed up for, should keep me occupied for quite some time. I probably won’t sign up for any more year-long challenges–again, unless an awesome sci-fi / fantasy challenge comes up–but I will be keeping an eye out for shorter, monthly challenges of interest.

Now, off to pick tomorrow’s book! Happy New Year, constant readers.

10 Responses to “What Is This I Don’t Even: A Whole Whack Of Challenges”

  1. Hi Leigh Anne! Welcome to the Graphic Novels Reading Challenge. Wonderful to meet you and have you on board this year!

    • Thanks so much! It’s great to meet you, too – looking forward to getting my hands on some manga I read about on NPR, and SOON! 🙂

  2. Thanks for joining the Dive Into Poetry Challenge 2013

  3. 5 abookdragon

    Wow, someone who reads more than I do! I look forward to seeing your lists.

    I started blogging because of reading challenges too! Welcome and enjoy your library books.

  4. Wow. I feel like a muss with a 25 books reading challenge. 🙂

    • Heh. Somebody’s gotta be the pace-setter. Besides, this will give us excuses to plan “play dates” in coffee shops to read together!

  5. Welcome aboard to the Middle East Reading Challenge! Glad you’re doing the Scholar level! If you would like I can also help you with recommendations.
    The European Reading Challenge and the Global Reading Challenge are good ones too. You can find links to them on my blog.

    • Thanks kindly for the welcome! Recommendations would be GREAT – I had clicked through to the previous challenge reviews and browsed a bit, and I’m also getting suggestions from a friend who is a scholar in the field. But, the more the merrier!

      And I will definitely check out the other challenges. The library where I work has a great world fiction collection, so I have a deep pool to dive into there.

      Happy new year!

      Leigh Anne


Leave a Reply

